The National Jewish Committee on Scouting will award scholarships to Eagle Scouts who best meet the qualifications outlined below and on the nomination application.

Eligibility Requirements

Eligible applicants must:
• Be a registered, active member of a Boy Scout troop, Varsity Scout team,
or Venturing crew.
• Have received the Eagle Scout Award.
• Be an active member of a synagogue and must have received the Ner Tamid
or Etz Chaim religious emblem.
• Have demonstrated practical citizenship in his synagogue, school, Scouting unit,
and community.
• Be enrolled in an accredited high school and in his final year at the time
of selection.  Exception – Scouts whose Eagle Scout boards of review are held the
same year of their high school graduation may apply in that calendar year.  They may
receive a scholarship one time only.

Scholarship Categories

Scholarships awarded each year are:

Chester M. Vernon Memorial Eagle Scout Scholarship Program – The recipient of the Chester M. Vernon Memorial Eagle Scout Scholarship will receive a $1,000 scholarship per year for four years. Applicants must demonstrate financial need.

Rick Arkans Eagle Scout Scholarship Program – The recipient of this scholarship will receive a one-time $1,000 scholarship. Applicants must demonstrate financial need.

Frank L. Weil Memorial Eagle Scout Scholarship Program – The top recipient of the Frank L. Weil Memorial Eagle Scout Scholarship will receive a $3,000 scholarship. One second-place scholarship award will be given in the amount of $1,000.

Applicants for the Vernon and Arkans scholarships must submit a copy of the Free Application for Federal Student Assistance (FAFSA).

Applications may be submitted between October 1, 2017 and January 31, 2018.  Send to the National Jewish Committee on Scouting, Boy Scouts of America, 1325 West Walnut Hill Lane – S342, P. O. Box 152079, Irving, TX 75015-2079.  Enclose a self-addressed stamped post card with the application.

A link to the Scholarship Application form is located at the bottom of this page. The applicant should type or print all information. All sections should be completed with as much information as possible. However, except for the required letters of recommendation (and FAFSA) no additional pages may be attached.

The names of the recipients will be announced in May 2017.

The recipients will be eligible to receive their scholarships immediately upon graduation from an accredited high school after submitting a tuition bill from their selected college or university.  They must use the entire award within four years of their HS graduation date, excluding any time spent on active military duty.

The scholarship may be used to attend a college, university, or school selected by the student providing it is state accredited, above the high school level.

Disbursement from the scholarship fund will be made to the student. Scholarship funds may be used only to defray necessary costs of a student’s education.

Eagle Scout Application form as a fillable field Adobe pdf 

Eagle Scout Application form as an Adobe pdf