It was a natural outgrowth of the relationship between Scouting and Jewish organizations that the religious emblems program was instituted to give recognition to youth who had demonstrated religious growth. In 1945 the National Jewish Committee on Scouting issued the Ner Tamid religious emblem for Boy Scouts who are Jewish. Today there are also the Maccabee and Aleph religious emblems for Cub Scouts who are Jewish. The Etz Chaim religious emblem program was created most recently for older Boy Scouts and Venturers

Since these emblems were designed by rabbis and implemented under the auspices of the NJCOS and not by the Boy Scouts of America, it is appropriate that they be presented during a religious service at a youth’s synagogue.

As a partner with other faiths in the promotion of religious emblems, the P.R.A.Y. office also serves as the religious emblems and awards partner for the National Jewish Committee on Scouting. For questions about purchasing emblems or awards for the Jewish faith, you may reach P.R.A.Y. by calling 1-800-933-7729 or via email at




Workbooks and applications from your local council are no longer current. The most recent revisions of the requirements for all of NJCOS religious emblems can be found below:

NJCOS religious emblems requirements for all Scouts
NJCOS religious emblems requirements and workbooks for all Scouts
NJCOS religious emblems requirements and workbooks with fillable fields for all Scouts
These links may be of assistance to chartered organizations, emblem counselors and religious emblem coordinators.


       Shofar Award
       Shalom Award (International Forum of Jewish Scouts award)
       Nachshon Fellowship (International Forum of Jewish Scouts award)


       Frank L. Weil Quality Memorial Unit Recognition Award
       Frank L. Weil Quality Jewish Committee Award