Skip to content
Donate Email Updates Store

Awards and Emblems

awards and emblemsOne of the most rewarding parts of being a Scout is earning an emblem. An emblem signifies the hard work a Scout goes through to learn about his religion and its customs. The National Jewish Committee on Scouting has developed a program of religious emblems as a unified, graduated program that teaches Judaism in age-appropriate increments.

Cub Scouts

Cub Scouts (grades 1–5) can earn three types of emblems: The Aryeh (for Kindergarten and First Graders),  The Maccabee (which is for First through Third Graders) then allows the Scouts to advance to earn The Aleph which can be earned up through Fifth Grade with a counselor.

Scouts BSA, Venturers and Explorers

Scouts BSA, Venturers, and Explorers (grades 6–9) earn two emblems as well: The Ner Tamid, which then advances to The Etz Chaim.

Eagle Scouts

Scouts who wish to earn the rank of Eagle Scout have reached a very high level of achievement. To reward their hard work, they may be eligible to earn scholarships and other certificates.

Unit and Adult Awards

Adults who show exemplary efforts in promoting and recruiting for Scouting are eligible to win the honor of the Shofar Award.
Jewish Scouting Units who show exemplary levels of organization and creativity are eligible for the Frank L. Weil Award.
The Mortimer Schiff Award is bestowed upon Scouting committees that provide effective and active service to Scouting.

International Forum Awards

The International Forum of Jewish Scouts brings together representatives of Jewish scouts from all continents and offers several awards to Scouting adults who have made a difference in their regions.