Skip to content
Donate Email Updates Store

Adult and Unit Awards

Gene and Alan

Shofar Award
Frank L. Weil Award for Jewish Scouting Units
Mortimer Schiff Award

Shofar Award

The Shofar Award of the National Jewish Committee on Scouting

The National Jewish Committee on Scouting established the Shofar Award to recognize outstanding service by adults in the promotion of Scouting among Jewish youth. Self and spousal nominations will not be accepted.

Eligibility Guidelines

A Shofar recipient should:

    1. Promote the use of Scouting in synagogues, Jewish Community Centers, and other Jewish institutions
    2. Encourage Jewish youth to join the Boy Scouts of America as Tiger Cubs, Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Varsity Scouts, and Explorers
    3. Recruit Jewish leaders on unit, district, and council levels
    4. Encourage and assist Scouts in earning their Jewish emblems
    5. Promote religious observance on camping trips and at camporees, summer camp, Scout Sabbath, and other functions
    6. Exemplify religious convictions by personal participation in Jewish life

    Shofar Award

    Nomination Procedure

        1.  Letter of Recommendation: The nominator (a Scouting volunteer or professional) must include a letter of recommendation detailing the nominee’s qualifications with the application
        2.  Completed Application: The nominator must download and submit the application form  to the local BSA Council’s Jewish Committee on Scouting for approval
        3.  Required Signatures: The local BSA Council Scout Executive must also sign the application form

    Please send payment along with the application.

    The Shofar Award is exclusively promoted through the National Jewish Committee on Scouting. For questions about purchasing replacement awards, contact

    Frank L. Weil Award for Jewish Scouting Units

    patch for Frank L Weil Memorial Unit Recognition AwardThe Frank L. Weil Award for Jewish Scouting Units recognizes the quality of the program the unit provides its youth. Named in honor of a former important early chairman, the award is available through the NJCOS and administered through the region chair. It consists of:

        • A certificate for the chartered organization
        • A colored ribbon for the unit
        • A multicolored, embroidered patch for each registered member (youths and adults)

    Download the application form here.
    Go to Top

    Mortimer Schiff Award (for Jewish Committees)

    The National Jewish Committee on Scouting presents The Mortimer Schiff Award to recognize the most active and effective Jewish Committees on Scouting. It is named for a founding member of the Boy Scouts of America and one of the first national presidents of the BSA. The region chair for the NJCOS administers this award.

    Recipients of the Schiff Award receive a “Scouting Serves the Jewish Community” plaque for the committee and pins for each committee member.

    Download the application form here.
    Go to Top.

  1. For questions, you may reach the NJCOS Awards Committee at
    Go to Top