Skip to content
Donate Email Updates Store

International Forum Awards

Group of International ScoutersThe International Forum of Jewish Scouts brings together representatives of Jewish scouts from all continents: USA, Brazil, Canada, UK, France, Australia and Israel. The name “Forum” was chosen reflecting the desire to provide a focal point promoting dialogue, exchanges, and proposals among Jewish scouts throughout the world. The IFJS offers several awards to Scouting adults who have made a difference in their regions.

The Shalom Award

\"InternationalThe IFJS Shalom Award recognizes adult Scout volunteers (Scouters) who provide leadership and assistance to national Jewish Scout groups.

A nominee is recognized for substantial efforts over a long period of time (at least five years) or for one major project of international significance. The nominee acts as an ambassador and representative of Jewish convictions and ideals as they relate to the Scouting movement both to the non-Jewish Scout community and to the Jewish Scout community through personal example. It can be earned by any Scouter in the United States.

Download the nomination requirements and application form

The Nachshon Fellowship

Nachshon A “Nachshon” is an “initiator” in the tradition of Nachshon ben Aminadav who walked directly into the Sea of Reeds without hesitation during the Exodus to demonstrate his willingness to follow the will of God.

According to the Torah, the tribe consists of the descendants of Judah, the fourth son of Jacob. The association between Judah and the lion can first be found in the blessing given by Jacob to Judah: “Judah is a lion’s whelp; from the prey, my son, thou art gone up. He stooped down, he couched as a lion, and as a lioness; who shall rouse him up?“  (Bereshit 49:9)

The Nachshon Fellowship recognizes individuals worldwide who provide outstanding service to International Jewish Scouts. The Fellowship consists of dedicated adult Scout volunteers (Scouters) who perform long-standing, exemplary service on a national or international level promoting Jewish Scouts.

No more than three fellowships will normally be granted in any year after the first three years of the Fellowship (2014 – 2017).

Nominations are made by the NJCOS and two other national Scout associations on recommendations by members of the NJCOS.